pdp.preview.ar-cta.header
Preview on your Wall
Scan me and see this artwork on your own wall! (iPhone only)

Point the iPhone at the desired wall (approx. 3 meters distance) and press start.

Crowded Skies

Sizes:
49,1 x 39,1
DESCRIPTION:

GENUINE PRINT MOUTNED IN SHADOWBOX WITH ACRYLIC GLASS
A multi-layered work inspired by traditional collage aesthetics with captivating three dimensional depths.
Frame color: black

53,1 x 43,1 cm (External dimensions)

Pay in 30 days or in up to 36 interest-free installments with Klarna.

2021 / 2022 / SWH01
page.detail.shipment.estimation.sale-item
VAT incl. Plus € 6.90 shipping.

READY TO HANG

Out of the box, all LUMAS artworks are ready and easy to hang.

SECURELY PACKAGED

LUMAS works are always packed to the highest standard to make sure it arrives as perfectly as it leaves us.

ARTIST SUPPORTED

Your purchase supports the free and independent work of your favorite artist.

14 DAY RETURNS

Easy 14 day returns to make sure you are satisfied with every purchase.



BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Shane Wheatcroft's collages offer an unusual and astonishing glimpse into the inner workings of the human mind. With a charmingly retro feel, they feature a variety of characters and corresponding motifs. The possibilities for interpretation are manifold. At times the subject appears to commemorate love lost and, at others, seems immersed in daydreams. In doing so, Wheatcroft cleverly manipulates the ambiguity of the eye, which can act as both a window to the soul and a witness to one’s surroundings.

The starting point for Shane Wheatcroft’s works is spontaneously discovered materials, from which he draws inspiration and further constructs a motif. He favors old magazines and books, which suit his retro aesthetic. The artist finds his source material at flea markets, second-hand bookstores, and family bookshelves – all of which he frequents. Through this method, he has built an immense archive, from which he can regularly pull ideas and material for his new projects.

For most of his career, Wheatcroft worked as a painter, only recently specializing in the art of collages. A prominent contributor in this change of direction was English conceptual artist John Stezaker, who also produces surrealist collages from discovered materials. In addition, the works of Andy Warhol, Peter Blake, Cindy Sherman, and Linder Sterling are credited as sources of inspiration.
VITA
Born in Colchester, England - 1974
Lives and works in Sittingbourne, Kent, England

Delivery to your country is not possible from this site.
If you would like to place an order, please visit LUMAS USA.

No thanks, I would like to stay on this site.
Yes, I would like to switch.

Crowded Skies von Shane Wheatcroft
Limited Edition, Auflage: 150, Signiert
2021 / 2022 SWH01
Shane Wheatcroft
Werkinfo

Crowded Skies

Crowded Skies
Shane Wheatcroft. Limited Edition, Auflage: 150, Signiert
49,1 x 39,1
Neu

ECHTER FOTOABZUG HINTER BEDRUCKTEM ACRYLGLAS IM VITRINENRAHMEN
Das mehrschichtige Werk in der Tradition der Collage Ästhetik besticht durch die akzentuierte, dreidimensionale Tiefenwirkung.
Vitrinenrahmen: schwarz

53,1 x 43,1 cm (Außenmaß)

€ 549
oder
inkl. MwSt. zzgl. € 9,90 Versand
page.detail.shipment.estimation.sale-item
Einzigartige Museumsqualität
Sichere Kunst-Verpackung
30 Tage Rückgaberecht
Hintergrundinformationen zu Shane Wheatcroft
Einführung
Die Collagen von Shane Wheatcroft bieten einen ungewöhnlichen und überraschenden Blick in das Innere der Persönlichkeit. In charmantem Retro-Look inszenieren sie verschiedene Personen und dazugehörige Szenarien. Die Möglichkeiten der Interpretation sind dabei vielfältig. Manchmal scheint eine Person einer verflossenen Liebe zu gedenken. Ein andermal in Tagträume versunken. Dabei spielt der Künstler geschickt mit der Mehrdeutigkeit des Auges, welches einerseits nach innen gerichtet das Fenster zur Seele ist, zugleich aber auch als Zeuge der Umgebung und des Geschehens agiert.

Ausgangspunkt für die Arbeiten von Shane Wheatcroft sind gefundene Materialien, aus denen er Inspiration schöpft und dann eine Geschichte konstruiert. Dabei bedient er sich bevorzugt bei alten Magazinen und Büchern, die besonders seiner Retro-Ästhetik entsprechen. Fündig wird Wheatcroft auf Flohmärkten und in Antiquariaten, die er häufig und mit größer Aufmerksamkeit besucht, sowie in den Bücherregalen bei Freunden und Familie. Auf diese Art hat er über die Jahre ein immenses Archiv angelegt, aus dem er Anregungen und Bildmaterial für seine Inszenierungen entnehmen kann.

Über viele Jahre arbeitete Wheatcroft als Maler, bevor er sich dem Medium der Collage widmete. Eine herausragende Rolle bei diesem Wandel der künstlerischen Ausrichtung spielten die Werke des bekannten englischen Konzeptkünstlers John Stezaker, der ebenfalls aus gefundenen Materialien Collagen mit surrealem Esprit erstellt. Auch die Arbeiten von Andy Warhol, Peter Blake, Cindy Sherman und Linder Sterling zählen zu seinen Inspirationsquellen.
Vita
Geboren 1974 in Colchester, England
Lebt und arbeitet in Sittingbourne, Kent, England

Besuchen Sie LUMAS USA!

Auf dieser Seite ist keine Lieferung in Ihr Land möglich.
Möchten Sie gern bestellen, dann besuchen Sie LUMAS USA.

Nein danke, ich möchte auf dieser Seite bleiben.
Ja, ich möchte wechseln.