pdp.preview.ar-cta.header
Preview on your Wall
Scan me and see this artwork on your own wall! (iPhone only)

Point the iPhone at the desired wall (approx. 3 meters distance) and press start.

Fright Wig (Red)

Sizes:
34,3 x 31,4
Please Call
DESCRIPTION:

SILKSCREEN ON PAPER
INCLUSIVE MAGNETIC FRAME
OAK BLACK

42,4 x 39,5 cm (External dimensions)

Pay in 30 days or in up to 36 interest-free installments with Klarna.

Fright Wig (Red)
2010 / GTU01
page.detail.shipment.estimation.sale-item
VAT incl. Plus € 6.90 shipping.

READY TO HANG

Out of the box, all LUMAS artworks are ready and easy to hang.

SECURELY PACKAGED

LUMAS works are always packed to the highest standard to make sure it arrives as perfectly as it leaves us.

ARTIST SUPPORTED

Your purchase supports the free and independent work of your favorite artist.

14 DAY RETURNS

Easy 14 day returns to make sure you are satisfied with every purchase.



BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Gavin Turk‘s works largely revolve around one central theme: the identity of the artist. Using art’s famous figures as a starting point – Andy Warhol, Jackson Pollock, Joseph Beuys, etc. – Turk calls the myth of the artist and the perception of famous works into question.

Turk gained wide recognition in the 90s through the Young British Artists movement, which formed in 1988 as a loose association of artists including Damien Hirst and Tracey Emin. Like other Young British Artists, he explored the idea of authorship and created high-concept works with references to art history. In his exhibition, Cave, at the Royal College of Art, Turk decorated a whitewashed studio with a single commemorative plaque reading: “Gavin Turk worked here, 1989–1991.” Although he did not receive an official university degree for this memorable installation, it did make a big impression on renowned art collector Charles Saatchi and other prominent gallerists of the day.

Gavin Turk’s art remains provocative and sensational to this day. He often interweaves his own name or image into it. Turk creates ingeniously humorous works. Or, as he puts it: “I try to interrogate ideas of value with my work; to stop the blindness that appears when certain artworks become iconic.”
VITA
Gavin Turk was born in 1967 in Guildford, England. He studied at the Chelsea College of Art and Design and the Royal College of Art in London. His work has appeared in numerous solo and group exhibitions in Vienna, Paris, London, and New York, in institutions like the Tate or London’s White Cube. Since 2012, he has been a professor of Art and Design at Bath Spa University. He lives and works in London.

Delivery to your country is not possible from this site.
If you would like to place an order, please visit LUMAS USA.

No thanks, I would like to stay on this site.
Yes, I would like to switch.

pdp.preview.ar-cta.header
Vorschau an deiner Wand
Scanne mich und sieh dieses Kunstwerk an deiner eignenen Wand! (nur iPhone)

Richte dein iPhone auf die gewünschte Wand (ca. 3 Meter Abstand) und drücke Start.

Fright Wig (Red)

Grösse:
34,3 x 31,4
Auf Anfrage

SIEBDRUCK
INKLUSIVE MAGNETRAHMEN
EICHE SCHWARZ

42,4 x 39,5 cm (Außenmaß)

Bezahle in 30 Tagen oder in bis zu 36 zinsfreien Raten mit Klarna.

Fright Wig (Red)
2010 GTU01
page.detail.shipment.estimation.sale-item
zzgl. € 6,90 Versand / Preise inkl. MwSt.

FERTIG ZUM AUFHÄNGEN

Alle LUMAS Kunstwerke können nach dem Auspacken ganz einfach aufgehängt werden.

SICHER VERPACKT

Die Verpackungen der LUMAS Kunstwerke entsprechen immer den höchsten Standards, damit sichergestellt werden kann, dass alles so einwandfrei bei dir ankommt, wie es losgeschickt wurde.

UNTERSTÜTZT ARTISTS

Dein Kauf unterstützt das freie und unabhängige Arbeiten des Künstlers.

14 TAGE RÜCKGABERECHT

Weil uns wichtig ist, dass du rundum glücklich mit deinem Kunstwerk bist, kannst du es 14 Tage lang zurücksenden.



HINTERGRUNDINFORMATIONEN
Gavin Turks Arbeiten drehen sich meist um ein zentrales Thema: die Identität des Künstlers. Der Brite findet seinen Ausgangspunkt in Künstlerpersönlichkeiten wie Andy Warhol, Jackson Pollock oder Joseph Beuys und stellt den Mythos des Künstlers und die Perzeption von berühmten Werken in Frage.
Turk wurde in den Neunziger Jahren durch die Young British Artists Bewegung bekannt, die sich im Jahr 1988 als lose Vereinigung um Künstler wie Damien Hirst oder Tracey Emin formierte. Wie auch andere YBA-Künstler ergründete er damals den Begriff des Urhebers und erschuf hochkonzeptionelle Werke mit Bezügen auf kunsthistorische Motive. In seiner Ausstellung Cave am Royal College of Art inszenierte Turk ein weiß getünchtes Studio mit einer einzigen blauen Gedenktafel: „Gavin Turk, Bildhauer, arbeitete hier von 1989-1991“. Obwohl er für diese ungewöhnliche Installation keinen formellen Universitätsabschluss erhielt, wurden der angesehene Kunstsammler Charles Saatchi und weitere Galeristen auf ihn aufmerksam.
Die Kunst von Gavin Turk ist bis zum heutigen Tage provokant und aufsehenerregend, häufig verwebt er seinen Namen oder sein Abbild darin. Turk erschafft geistreiche, humorvolle Werke – in seinen eigenen Worten: „Mit meiner Arbeit versuche ich, unsere Wertvorstellungen zu hinterfragen, um die Blindheit aufzuzeigen, die entsteht, wenn bestimmte Werke ikonischen Status erreichen.“
VITA
Gavin Turk wurde 1967 in Guildford, Großbritannien, geboren. Er hat am Chelsea College of Art and Design und am Royal College of Art in London studiert. Seine Werke waren in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen in Wien, Paris, London oder New York zu sehen, etwa in der Tate Britain oder im Londoner White Cube. Seit 2012 lehrt er als Professor für Kunst und Design an der Bath Spa University, er lebt und arbeitet in London.

Auf dieser Seite ist keine Lieferung in Ihr Land möglich.
Möchten Sie gern bestellen, dann besuchen Sie LUMAS USA.

Nein danke, ich möchte auf dieser Seite bleiben.
Ja, ich möchte wechseln.