Costa Gorel - Pictures, Art, Photography Costa Gorel

Costa Gorel

Background Information about Costa Gorel

Introduction

The origins of Costa Gorel's art lie in Spain; the artist himself grew up in Germany in a multinational family. As a result, he came into contact with a wide variety of cultural traditions at an early age which still influence his work today. With distinct sophistication and impressive boldness, he creates unconventional pieces with traditional traits: Between Renaissance and Baroque, modern and contemporary, he plays with motifs, techniques and subtle references in an original way – from medieval myths to the Birkin Bag as a symbol of the modern times.

A central theme of his work is the figure of Orlando – the protagonist of a novel by Virginia Woolf whom Costa Gorel describes as a kind of fictional mentor. A character who travels through the centuries, switching between physical appearances and genders. The only constant is his inner self as he explores life’s spirit through the ages.  

Inspired by the multifaceted nature of human cultures across time, Gorel creates works that illustrate both social and psychological states. His deep roots in the German-Austrian expressionist tradition are evident in the emotional intensity of his portraits. It shows strong parallels to the Austrian painter Egon Schiele such as the self-portrait as a form of expression. 

Between poetic ambiguity and explicit nudity, his paintings are infused with a touch of eroticism that brings both a seductive and an unapproachable nuance. He uses the image of the naked body as a means of expressing passion and desire, but also vulnerability and insecurity.  
Costa Gorel succeeds in combining technical precision with a playful touch: On closer inspection, his little white dog can be found in each of his creations. A subtle game of hide-and-seek that sharpens the eye for unexpected discoveries.

Exhibitions

2020 - International Amsterdam Art Fair
2020 - Rave Miami Art Fair
2020 - 2021 Virtually Nepalian Nude Show
2021 - Group exhibition "Colors of Life", Saatchi Gallery, London, UK
2021 - Group Exhibition "Colors of Emotions" FOLD Gallery, London, UK
2022 – Art Madrid Feria, Madrid, Spain
2023 – Art Madrid Feria, Madrid, Spain
2023 – NordArt 2023, Büdelsdorf, Germany

Costa Gorel - Bilder, Werke und Fotografie Costa Gorel

Costa Gorel

Hintergrundinformationen zu Costa Gorel

Einführung

Die Anfänge von Costa Gorels Kunst liegen in Spanien; der Künstler selbst wuchs in Deutschland in einer multinationalen Familie auf. Auf diese Weise kam er schon früh mit verschiedensten kulturellen Traditionen in Berührung, die bis heute sein Schaffen beeinflussen. Mit ausgeprägtem Feinsinn und bestechender Kühnheit erschafft er unkonventionelle Kreationen mit traditionellen Zügen: Zwischen Renaissance, Barock, Moderne und Gegenwart spielt er auf originelle Weise mit Motiven, Techniken und subtilen Bezügen – von mittelalterlichen Mythen bis zur Birkin Bag als Symbol der heutigen Zeit.
Ein zentrales Thema seiner Arbeit ist die Figur des Orlando – der Protagonist eines Romans von Virginia Woolf, den Costa Gorel als eine Art fiktiven Mentor beschreibt. Ein Charakter, der durch die Jahrhunderte reist und dabei zwischen physischen Erscheinungen und den Geschlechtern wechselt. Die einzige Konstante bildet sein Inneres, während er das Lebensgefühl im Wandel der Epochen erforscht.
Inspiriert vom Facettenreichtum menschlicher Kulturen im Laufe der Zeit, kreiert Gorel Werke, die sowohl gesellschaftliche als auch psychische Zustände illustrieren. Die tiefe Verwurzelung in der deutsch-österreichischen, expressionistischen Tradition zeigt sich unter anderem an der emotionalen Intensität der Portraits. Es lassen sich starke Parallelen zu dem österreichischen Maler Egon Schiele erkennen, unter anderem in der Ausdrucksform des Selbstportraits.
Zwischen poetischer Zweideutigkeit und expliziter Nacktheit sind seine Malereien durchsetzt von einem Hauch Erotik, die sowohl eine verführerische als auch eine unnahbare Nuance bringt. Er nutzt das Bild des nackten Körpers als Mittel, um Leidenschaft und Begehren, aber auch Verletzlichkeit und Unsicherheit auszudrücken.
Es gelingt Costa Gorel, technische Präzision mit einer spielerischen Note zu vereinen: Bei näherer Betrachtung lässt sich sein kleiner, weißer Hund in jeder seiner Kreationen wiederfinden. Ein subtiles Versteckspiel, das den Blick für unerwartete Entdeckungen schärft.

Ausstellungen

2020 - International Amsterdam Art Fair
2020 - Rave Miami Art Fair
2020 - 2021 Virtually Nepalian Nude Show
2021 - Group exhibition "Colors of Life", Saatchi Gallery, London, UK
2021 - Group Exhibition "Colors of Emotions" FOLD Gallery, London, UK
2022 – Art Madrid Feria, Madrid, Spain
2023 – Art Madrid Feria, Madrid, Spain
2023 – NordArt 2023, Büdelsdorf, Germany